Home > Lists, Literature > Summer Reading June 1, 2011 – August 31, 2011

Summer Reading June 1, 2011 – August 31, 2011

Summer is the best time to crack through the books!  I already have a goal on Goodreads that I will read 50 books in 2011 and I think I have read 17 so far.  Not too bad.  I think I will aim for one book a week through the summer and vary it with longer and shorter novels, bestsellers with classics.  I am also going to try and limit myself to books that I already own but have yet to read.  Who does that?  Buys books for the joy of owning books but doesn’t read them for 3 years?  None of you bibliophiles out there I am sure 😉 Ok and I also plan on reading Harry Potter 4-7 before the film comes out on July 15th but am not going to list them here.

1. The Awakening by Kate Chopin (1899)

2. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (1811)

3.  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (2007)

4. War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (1898)

5. Mystic River by Dennis Lehane (2003)

6. The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory ( 2006)

7. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (1844)

8.  Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne (1864)

9. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus (2002)

10. Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy (1891)

11. A Kestral for a Knave by Barry Hines (1968)

12. Moonlight and Sword by Isolde Martin (2002)

13. East of Eden by John Steinbeck (1952)

14. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum (1900)

 

Categories: Lists, Literature
  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 3, 2011 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

